Pulau Ubin

Today, I will write about my trip to Pulau Ubin in July.

July 3, 2016

Pulau Ubin is about a 10 minute ride on the jetty from Changi Point Ferry Terminal. As soon as I reached the island, I took a taxi to Chek Jawa Wetlands. Note that the taxi costs S$24 round trip regardless of number of passengers, so make sure you go with a group. (It’s also possible to rent a bike to go there.)

Chek Jawa is a mangrove forest along the east coast of the island. There, I saw wild boars, mud-skippers, and sea anemone.

chek jawa

wild boar

mudskipper

sea anemone

This time the tide was too high, but when the tide is below 0.5 m (Tide Information), they say you can see a lot of marine life like corals. I’m definitely going to visit again when the tide is lower.

Unfortunately, I didn’t see any birds at Chek Jawa, so I returned towards the port and headed for the sensory trail. Then, I heard a very distinctive bird call. I rushed towards the call and there I saw the Oriental Pied Hornbill. 4 of them! I was very lucky this time, as I was able to see them really up close.

I actually went to Pulau Ubin in August, and I also saw Hornbills along the sensory trail, so it seems this is their territory. If you want to see Hornbills, I highly recommend the sensory trail of Pulau Ubin. Listen carefully for its call

oriental pied hornbill 1

oriental pied hornbill 2

oriental pied hornbill 3

oriental pied hornbill 4

I took pictures of the Asain Glossy Starling and Brahminy Kite, and left for the main island.

asian glossy starling

brahminy kite

When I reached Changi Point Ferry Terminal, I saw a flock of Red-Breasted Parakeets perched on a nearby tree. I couldn’t take a picture, but I saw a Hornbill here as well!

red breasted parakeet

That’s all for today!

Leave a comment