Singapore Botanic Gardens

After living an year and looking for birds, I realized that the timing of when and where to look is very important. I thought a web site with that kind of information would be helpful for people going bird-watching, so hence I have decided to start this blog. And now, here is a report of yesterday.

August 28, 2016

I went to the Singapore Botanic Gardens mainly to do bird watching, and I was not let down.

Botanic Gardnes Entrance

Entering from the Bukit Timah Gate, I headed for the visitor center. I was first greeted by the usual monitor lizard. The monitor lizards I have seen here are smaller than the ones in other parts of Singapore.

monitor lizard

When I reached the visitor center, I caught a glimpse of a Crimson Sunbird in a small patch of shrubs right by the visitor center. As it was my first time seeing this beautiful bird, this alone made it worth the trip. By the way, it is the unofficial national bird of Singapore.

crimson sunbird 1

crimson sunbird 2

Also at the visitor center, I saw the Red Junglefowl. It looks like chicken, but this is actually a wild bird.

red junglefowl

I went down to the Symphony Lake, and saw this female Olive-backed Sunbird feeding on a Heliconia.

olive-backed sunbird (female)

From there, I headed back to Bukit Timah gate via the Evolution Garden Walk. Along the way, I saw a Common Tailorbird, Yelllow-vented Bulbul, and a Black-naped Oriole.

common tailorbird

yellow-vented bulbul

black-naped oriole

That wrapped up my day. I also plan on writing reports about bird watching trips I made in the past year.

Leave a comment